21 Day Sugar Detox and can you have too many CrossFit shoes?

Seriously, I have a sugar addiction. Confession: at one point (possibly recently), I could buy a Cadbury bar and eat the whole thing within a few minutes. And not feel sick after. That’s totally not healthy and definitely not paleo, but I could do it. And then I got into the habit of making paleo treats too often…using recipes with honey and maple syrup… Sometimes I start eating super healthy and clean, but then one little piece of chocolate or one little paleo-friendly treat…and it’s a nosedive into sugar hell (or heaven, whichever way you want to look at it). I had to break the habit. I’ve done a Whole30 before (tough but awesome by the end) but never a 21 Day Sugar Detox. Now’s the time.

I’m on day 4 and it’s tough but not as tough as I expected. I was eating pretty paleo (minus the chocolate and paleo treats and honey/maple syrup before), so I didn’t have a huge change from what I was eating. BUT NOW ALL I WANT IS FRUIT. Usually I only buy fruit when it’s on sale (yay Publix), but then usually (probably 90% of the time), I end up forgetting/not wanting the fruit until I realize it went bad/is moldy/gross/etc. (Except plumcots/pluots – I could buy like 8 of those and eat them within a few days. So good! Luckily, their season is kind of short.) All I can think about now is pineapple, pomegranate, strawberries, berries, pineapple, cranberries….but on 21DSD, you can only have one apple/green-tipped banana a day. (I don’t even love those two fruits.) Oh, and grapefruit which I hate. (I just cannot eat it. Grapefruit, asparagus and artichoke…I just despise.)

Here’s a glimpse into what I’ve been eating the last few days:

Mustard glazed chicken thighs (from 21DSD/Practical Paleo)
Image

Some pork chops with sweet potato; the pork chops were made in the slow cooker – add some chicken broth, spices, and just let em go; sweet potatoes come in these little frozen pucks from Trader Joes (for $2.99 here!)
Image

Tried to make the sparkling mint lemonade from South Beach Primal – I feel like this could be amazing, but I forgot I really don’t like carbonated drinks. So then the next day, I tried it with regular water…and not so great. So then I tried just chewing a mint leaf to freshen my breath after eating…and that was SO FAIL. 
ImageImage

Some meatballs with raw zucchini “salad” – I don’t even remember what was in the meatballs, but I used the sort of “base” idea from Well Fed 2 – cream of tartar, baking soda, some spices and some meat. Mine weren’t flavorful, but I’m not picky. The zucchini “salad” was so easy – I had 3 zucchini that would go bad soon, but I didn’t feel like getting out my spiralizer…so I just used a vegetable peeler to make teeny little slices, tossed those in olive oil, salt and pepper. BOOM. Delicious and so easy!
Image

Pork chops with raw zucchini “salad”
Image

Aren’t these chicken breasts a little bit too big? Seriously. 
Image

I’ll try to remember to blog more about the 21DSD and how it turns out. I’ve also made the moo-less mousse from the book and it is delicious…except I can’t take a nice looking photo of it, it just ends up looking gross.

So, Inov-8 shoes were on sale on The Clymb a few times in December. So I bought some. Three pairs. That’s necessary, really. (And I had bought a pair of Nanos and a pair of Reebok’s oly shoes a few weeks before that.) Isn’t the bottom of this shoe awesome?
Image
I am officially obsessed with Inov-8s. 

But my question is….can you have too many CrossFit shoes? Can you? I think the answer is no, but…

2 thoughts on “21 Day Sugar Detox and can you have too many CrossFit shoes?

Leave a Reply

