October recap: Barbells for Boobs and a 10K

October was such a busy month and this post is sadly a month late, but I loved October and wanted to share.

October 26:
Barbells for Boobs! I really love this event – I participated in 2011 when I was super new to CrossFit and was still pretty on and off. I think I used maybe 45 lbs and finished in around 3 minutes (aka I really should have used more weight). Grace is one of my favorite workouts – I love cleans – and Barbells for Boobs is a great cause.
1012711_10104240682155781_988842455_n
Image

In June, I did Grace with 65 lbs and finished in 5:59. In September, I did Grace at my new gym – used 65 lbs again and finished in 4:29.  I signed up thinking I’d just pay the registration fee and do the workout. Then I decided I wanted more. I started fundraising and ended up raising $400 – enough for approximately 5 mammograms! Thank you again, so much, to all my friends, family, and coworkers who donated – I really appreciate the donations and your support! (I can’t lie and say I’m not excited about raising enough money to get one of the hoodies – it makes raising $400 even that much more awesome.)

I helped my coach draft the press release and event listing for the event. Our sort of “slogan” ended up being – it’s not just for time. (Because we’re doing it for time, yes, but also for the bigger cause – to raise money to provide mammograms for those in need.) My gym’s goal was to raise $10,000 – and we raised over $12,000!

You can view more photos from the event from Jeff Chenery here and here.  Other cool things: My coach, Aimee, pledged to use the men’s weight if she raised more than a certain amount – and she did and it was awesome. Another coach, Kathy, had friends pledge to donate extra for every extra rep she did over 30 within the 8-minute time cap – also awesome.

I was going to just use 65 lbs again and aim for under 4 minutes, but instead decided to challenge myself a little more – I used 75 lbs and just wanted to still beat my previous record somehow even though the weight was heavier. And I did – not by much (4:18) but still – 10 lbs heavier and still faster! The first 15 kind of flew by, but then the jerk part felt so much heavier and I was doing 3-5 reps at a time.

IMG_3345 IMG_3349 IMG_3350 IMG_3353 IMG_6473 IMG_6508
I usually hate photos of myself, but these are ok and I’m glad I finally had a reason to wear my hot pink capris. (They’re Fila ones that were on sale at Kohl’s – but, they were such a pain and I had to keep pulling them up and wasting seconds.) At the time, I had absolutely no idea that there was a dog next to me (in the first pic) – no idea at all. The third photo shows I need to focus more on not letting my knees come in when landing at the end of the jerk (and probably on the clean part too). And I need to stop making weird faces in photos…

Also, I wish the bumpers were always hot pink, they just add a little something, don’t you think?

October 27:
Beach Running Championships 10K
My family ran this 10K (there’s also a half marathon option) last year – it’s on the beach – literally on the beach, not like some races that say they’re at the beach but they really aren’t. There’s also a barefoot division. I ran with my mom last year and I think we finished in around 1:20 but I stopped to walk a bunch of times and then ran to catch up with her.

This time, we finished at around 1:17, so a little bit faster, and didn’t stop. I had a weird chest pain during the first mile – no idea – but it went away. It’d the first race longer than a 5K that I’ve worn my Puma H-Streets (which apparently they no longer make which is sad because they’re awesome running shoes and they were only like $35!) so I was a little worried, but my feet felt mostly fine after.

There were SO many jellyfish laying in the sand; I am really bad at judging distance, but there were at least 2 or 3 every 50 meters. It made me worry for the people running barefoot – because you’re not always looking down to check for jellyfish, right? Anyway, on to the photos…

1376596_10104245552560451_1020832577_n
We can see the finish line!

1392049_10104245798971641_201694401_n

Cool photo?

998318_10104245799844891_1772854235_n
Finish line is closer!

1378559_10104248360907501_2020620924_n

So I have this problem with finish line photos – I always have this plan to take an awesome one, like this time I thought a photo high fiving my mom would be fun. And I was thinking about it the ENTIRE race…until we got to the finish line. I completely forgot…until about 10 minutes after we finished. Ridiculous. I need to plan better next time. I also probably need to figure out a way to not look as miserable in the finish line photos because the above one is not pretty (although my shirt is awesome – if you can’t read it, it says “is that paleo?”) and again, I’m making a weird face.

Does anyone have any tips for awesome finish line photos? Next race…I want a good one!

We also found this amazing BBQ place that served this deliciousness:
1377992_10104242790306031_34390900_n
The meat is smoked with some spices, but they serve it with the sauce on the side. We got sweet potatoes and didn’t eat the bread (but they still brought it anyway). I added some salt to the meat but really, it didn’t need it – such good flavor. Check it out if you end up in the area! (I would probably go get a pound or two of smoked meat every week if I lived a little closer – it’s that delicious.)

Hope your October was just as good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

