Drop in: CrossFit Orlando

 

Location: Orlando, FL
Website: CrossFit Orlando

Some days, you just need to lift a barbell (especially when it has been more than 3-4 days). And CrossFit Orlando happened to have a snatch heavy workout posted, so I dropped in.

The space: The box is in a sort of office park near the Lee Road/I-4 intersection close to downtown Orlando. The space seemed adequate and there was a pretty good size pull up rig in the sort of “center” of the gym. The ceilings seemed super low to me because they seem like just regular one level office floor height (and the box is on the first floor). (I’m used to much taller, otherwise I might not have noticed.) They had a good amount of equipment, including rowers, barbells, etc.

Atmosphere: I was greeted by one of the coaches, a few members introduced themselves. The weekday evening class had maybe 14-15 people, which seemed a few too many for the actual gym space (at least the space with the mats so you can actually drop weights), but they had two coaches actually coaching during the wod.

wod:

Part 1: Hang Snatch 1-1-1-1-1

Part 2:
A) AMRAP 6 min: 3 Snatch (135/95) 8 GHD Situp Rest 3 min.
B) AMRAP 6 min: 3 Overhead Squat (135/95) 8 KBS (32k/24k) Rest 3 min.
C) AMRAP 6 min: 3 Power Snatch (135/95) 8 Push Ups

I didn’t write down my rounds after (and scaled the weight), so I have no idea if this is accurate, but I think I got 5 rounds on A and 7 or 8 rounds on B and C (but again, could be way off). I hadn’t done 1 rep hang snatches before; my shoulders were exhausted by the time we got to C. It was definitely something different, I’m not sure I’ve ever done three mini AMRAPs in one workout before.

Overall: The gym is a decent size, atmosphere was good, and they had 2 coaches for the class, but it seemed a little cramped on space (people too close together, or maybe I just like more room  for snatches, plus the low ceilings, made me feel a little claustrophobic). The coaching was good. Members were encouraging. This isn’t my favorite gym in the area – I wouldn’t go out of my way to drop in again, but if it was really convenient, I might.

My shoulders were so tired the next day, it was rough to do overhead squats with a super low weight. (I just kept thinking pleaseee keep the bar up, do not drop on head, please keep it up.)

Leave a Reply

