Sudden wod math loss

During/after workouts, I seriously have no math skills at all. I suddenly think 5 times 3 is not actually 15, have trouble adding up weight correctly, etc. I think it should be called sudden wod math loss?

Today’s WOD:
Snatch 5×2 ME 35-40-45-45-45
4 rounds of:
10 front squat 45#
5 muscle ups (subbed 3:1 ring dips w/band and pull ups w/band)
200m run
18:26

Snatches just didn’t go well today; my one rep max a few weeks ago was 50#, and in 13.1 I did a bunch of snatches at 45# last week. I think my shoulders are tired from 13.2 yesterday (but thankfully not sore). I need to focus on the shrug and keeping the bar closer instead of letting it swing out. The second round of a working with running is always so much tougher. The squats suddenly feel like twice the weight. Then the next run feels so slow.

Post-wod burgers:
Grilled pineapple should be put on all burgers. So amazing. #... on Twitpic
Jalapeno burger with sweet potato pancake from Practical Paleo, topped with a slice of grilled pineapple. Why is grilled pineapple so amazing? I wish I could eat a slice or two with every meal. You know what else is amazing? Plantains. I’m trying to think of a way to bake banana or sweet potato pancakes but with plantains…use that as the bun, and then top the burger with pineapple. Can you imagine? Delicious. I can’t believe I didn’t really know about plantains until a year or so ago.

So I’ve started cooking breakfasts for the week every Sunday.
I cooked a bunch of sausage (found at Giant and surprisingly completely paleo)…
Cooking a bunch of sausage for this week's breakfast mix... on Twitpic

…cooked a bunch of shredded sweet potatoes (looks like cheddar cheese, right?)…
And sweet potato hash for breakfast mix. Shredded sweet potat... on Twitpic
and then mixed it all together and put in little containers.
Breakfasts for the week: sausage and sweet potato hash. So ea... on Twitpic
Last week, I added some bacon and chopped it up and it was SO DELICIOUS.

You know what other food is cool (besides plantains, grilled pineapple, and shredded sweet potatoes)? Spaghetti squash. I mean, who knew there was a squash out there that, when cooked, can fake people out for spaghetti.
Spaghetti squash is such a cool food. #paleo on Twitpic
I had eaten spaghetti squash a bunch of times before, but had never actually made it myself before until a few weeks ago. I don’t know why, but I find it so cool to “shred” it with a fork. I mean, looking at it just cut in half after cooked…you don’t realize at first that all of the spaghetti threads are packed really tightly together to make it look solid. I find it so cool.

Recipe: Civilized Caveman’s Spaghetti with Roasted Red Pepper Sauce
Cut spaghetti squash in half, preheat oven to 375 degrees, and bake for 30-40 minutes. (The squash I had, which I searched for at four different stores, was seriously huge, $11, and probably over 5 lbs. It cooked for 45 minutes.) Directions for the meat sauce are above. (We used ground turkey since somehow ground beef seemed more expensive this week than it usually is? So weird.)

Finished dinner = amazingness.
Spaghetti squash and meat sauce from @CookingCaveman #paleo on Twitpic

2 thoughts on “Sudden wod math loss

    • I use (roughly) this recipe from Nom Nom Paleo. I peel two sweet potatoes (or one giant one) and shred it in the food processor (so quick!)…toss it with salt, pepper, and garlic powder (probably about a tsp of each..but I adjust and add a little more after it has been cooking for a few minutes)..add coconut oil to pan over med/med-high, add shredded sweet potato, and let cook until tender (and delicious). I think mine usually take about 15 minutes, but I really fill the pan with the sweet potatoes.
      SO delicious and easy!

Leave a Reply

