What makes you come alive?

“Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and then go do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” ~ Howard Thurman

I have always envied people who truly love their jobs – people who enjoy going to work, who enjoy what they do, who are happy with their career. I was not one of them. Every day, I dreaded going into work. I felt so unfulfilled. Yes, it may be cliche, but I really wanted to be making a difference in the world. I wanted to be helping people, actually helping people.

I think, at least for some, you have to hit a certain level of unhappiness before realizing you have to make a drastic change and take a giant risk/leap to try to get where you want to be.

I started thinking of things I enjoy, and trying to combine them into something that I could do (as a career, way of life) that would also be helping people.

-I’ve always loved baking, and people have told me I should open a bakery; but I don’t want to be baking things that I wouldn’t eat because they’re filled with sugar and gluten. (And the last few times I have brought in baked goods to work, my friends have found it interesting that I wouldn’t eat what I had baked. I wanted to eat it, sure, but no more gluten for me.)

-I’ve always loved writing, and I really love sharing information. I post so many articles and links on Facebook, and I send so many articles to friends/family, hoping to encourage them on health/fitness journeys (or to start those journeys).

-I love CrossFit. I love trying to convince people to try CrossFit. I love talking about CrossFit. I love watching CrossFit. You get the idea. 🙂

-I love sharing paleo recipes. I love making recipes so people can try a dish and think, wow, that’s paleo?

-I love reading paleo/nutrition blogs.

-I like listening to people and trying to figure out problems/issues.

-I coached a high school tennis team and a Girls On The Run team, and really loved seeing the girls’ progression and improvement over the season.

I struggled with trying to put the above together. I read this Balanced Bites post and tried to make a diagram and find the “hedgehog.” I talked to friends, trying to get input on what they thought I might be good at. I think I even threw around the phrase “health coach” before I knew it was really a title. (I thought about how I would enjoy coaching people in health and fitness, but not just being a trainer, and not just being a nutritionist.) I’ve also been interested in mindfulness and meditation; after some pretty stressful life situations, I realized I needed a new way to deal with stress, a new way to gain focus.

I attended a paleo event where Gina at Simplistic Wholistic spoke about her journey and mentioned the Institute for Integrative Nutrition. Then, I read this post by Larry Palazzolo, and it just clicked. I want to be a health coach. I want to share health, nutrition, and wellness information with people, to try to help them reach their optimal levels of health and wellness. At first I kept thinking, wait, I’m not an expert, who would take advice from me? Then I happened to see this quote posted by WellnessFX:

“Every pro was once an amateur. Every expert was once a beginner. So dream big. And start now.”

And, again, ideas just seemed to click. So here I am, pursuing further education to become a health coach. I’ll be posting links to interesting health/fitness/nutrition articles and information, as well as updates on my personal journey (workout progress, nutritional progress, etc.) and some recipe attempts. (Anyone who knows me knows that, though I have always loved baking, I have always HATED cooking.  I mean hated. Cooking egg whites and plain chicken and ravioli was the extent of my cooking knowledge. I don’t hate cooking anymore. And if I can learn to cook, anyone can, seriously!)

Thank you for viewing my first post, and I hope you will continue to follow me. 🙂

2 thoughts on “What makes you come alive?

    • Actually, how did you decide on IIN? I’ve read some posts about becoming a registered dietitian vs health coach/nutritional counselor/etc. (I don’t think dietitian is the route I want to take, for a few reasons, but I can also see where the credential would be useful.) And I’ve read about the program at Bauman and the Nutritional Therapy Association’s program. I think I’m leaning towards IIN or NTA, but the Bauman curriculum seems the most solid. Do you have any advice? 🙂

Leave a Reply

